Swiss Ice Hockey

This Friday evening, the annual Swiss Ice Hockey Awards took place at the Kursaal in Bern. A total of twelve awards were handed out to players and other hockey personalities who caused a sensation in the 2017-18 season.

Photo: / Andreas Haas

With his 14 goals and 34 assists in 48 games, SC Bern's Canadian import Andrew Ebbett, 35, was named "Most Valuable Player" (MVP) of the 2017-18 regular season. His fellow countryman, ZSC's Kevin Klein (photo), received the "MVP Playoff" award. The 33-year-old defender played a vital role in leading the ZSC Lions to their ninth Championship title in club history.

Determined via 20 Minuten fan-voting, Mathias Seger was handed out the "Most Popular Player" (MPP) award. The 40-year-old defender and ZSC's captain from 2005-2017 crowned his career with his sixth Swiss Championship title. He suited up in almost 1170 National League games (475 points), and took part in 16 World Championships as well as four Olympic Winter Games with the Swiss national team.

The "Youngster of the Year" award went to HC Ambrì-Piotta's Austrian left winger Dominic Zwerger. The 22-year-old, who joined the Biancoblù from the Everett Silvertips last summer and is in possession of a Swiss players' license, managed to put up 49 points (21 goals, 28 assists) in a total of 60 games this past season.

HC Lugano's netminder and Columbus Blue Jackets prospect Elvis Merzlikins received the "Goaltender of the Year" award (Jacques Plante Trophy) for his extraordinary performance between the pipes of the Bianconeri. The playoff-finalist appeared in a total 60 games, posting a save percentage of .921 in the regular season (42 games), and .935 in the playoffs (18 games).

The "Woman of the Year" award was given to ZSC Lions' Alina Müller, who will continue her career overseas in the NCAA with the Northeastern University Women's Ice Hockey team. The 20-year-old forward was named MVP of the 2018 Olympic tournament in Pyeongchang and led the ZSC Lions (SWHL A) to another Swiss Championship title by contributing 80 points (50 goals, 30 assists) in a total of 23 games.

The "Special Awards" for valuable services to the benefit of Swiss Ice Hockey were handed out to Florence Schelling, Martin Gerber, Martin Plüss, Mathias Seger, as well as Mark Streit. Last but not least, the men's Swiss national team was given the "Hockey Award" for winning the Silver medal at this year's World Championship in Denmark.

Last Update: 03 August 2018, 10:10 PM | rlu