Swiss Ice Hockey

The Swiss Ice Hockey Federation handed out the awards for the 2022-23 season today.

Roman Josi wins the Hockey Award
Icon Sportswire / Danny Murphy

The first award of the night went to EV Zug's Leonard Genoni who beat out Sandro Aeschlimann and Jakub Kovar for the "Goaltender of the Year" award. This was followed by the "Youngster of the Year" category won by Nathan Vouardoux of the SC Rapperswil-Jona Lakers.

Mr. Popular is once again HC Davos' Andres Ambühl. He was elected "Most Popular Player" for the sixth, consecutive time by the fans via voting on 20 Minuten. Fellow national team player Roman Josi also received an award tonight: he took home the Hockey Award in recognition for his record-breaking season with the Nashville Predators.

Alina Müller, who will soon play her fifth season of college hockey, was awarded the "Woman of the Year" Award, winning over fellow national team players Andrea Brändli and Lara Stalder. Anna Wiegand received the Special Award in recognition of her career.

As for the "MVP of the Regular Season" award, the Lakers' Roman Cervenka took that trophy home. He finished the season with 20 goals and 44 assists in 52 regular-season games - a career-high for him.

Another Czech was awarded the title "MVP of the Playoffs": Jan Kovář of EV Zug. The forward recorded five goals and 16 assists for EVZ during their championship run.

( 29 July 2022 | mso )