Luc Tardif won the majority vote after four rounds of voting. In the first round, he had been tied with Franz Reindl (GER) for 29 votes.

Luc Tardif was elected to the IIHF Council in 2012 and has been the president of the French Ice Hockey Federation since its creation in 2006. As the IIHF's treasurer, he was also part of the Executive Committee and was thus working closely together with the president.

The 68-year-old succeeds René Fasel who had been the president of the IIHF for 27 years. Fasel was inducted into the IIHF Hall of Fame yesterday. The IIHF's Historical Committee waived the two-year waiting period for Fasel who is the IIHF's longest-serving president in its 111-year history.

( 25 September 2021 | mso )