The seven nominees for the award were chosen from those who best exemplify exceptional skill, determination, and team success.

Robert Hradil / RvS.Media

The seven candidates for the IIHF’s Male Player of the Year are Andres Ambühl (F, Switzerland), Connor Bedard (F, Canada), Adam Fantilli (F, Canada), Dominik Kubalik (F, Czechia), JJ Peterka (F, Germany), Moritz Seider (D, Germany), and Arturs Silovs (G, Latvia).

It is the first year that the award will be given out. Last week, Hilary Knight (USA) was selected as IIHF's Female Player of the Year. The voting will take place among Media and invited members of the IIHF Family, and the winner will be announced on Monday, 19 June.

The requisite for being a candidate for Male Player of the Year is to have competed in at least one IIHF tournament this past season (World Championship, World Juniors, or U18 World Championship) as well as in a domestic league of the highest caliber for that country, the combined performances of which were deemed superior to all other players.

( 07 June 2023 | lle*)