The Swiss regular-season champions of this past season have beaten the competition of four other European clubs.

ZSC Lions: the European "Club of the Year".

Like every year, the Alliance of European Hockey Clubs organizes the European Hockey Awards. This year, the ZSC Lions have been voted as "Club of the Year". Prior to the interruption of the 2019-20 season due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the Lions had finished the regular season at the top of the standings in the National League, significantly improving compared to the 2018-19 season, when they had missed the playoffs.

Moreover, the ZSC women’s team won the Swiss Cup and were one game from the national title before the interruption of the season. The club also makes a significant contribution to society with several social responsibility programs.

As announced earlier today, Rikard Grönborg (ZSC Lions) and Christian Wohlwend (HC Davos) did not win the award for "Coach of the Year", which went to Jussi Ahokas (KooKoo Kouvola) instead. Moreover, at 4 pm, the winner of the "Young Player of the Year" award, for which Benjamin Baumgartner (HC Davos) has been nominated, will be announced.

( 27 May 2020 | lle )
Something wrong? Then please let us know by sending us an e-mail. Thank you!

What's hot on SHN?


GCK Lions sign five new players, including an import

08 July 2020 - 11:16

Latest blogs & podcasts


Episode 92: Goldigi Ziite

27 June 2020

© 2013-2020