The National League team came out on top over four other champions of their respective leagues,

EVZ winning the Swiss championship last spring

EV Zug has received the award for "Club of the Year" by the Alliance of European Hockey Clubs. In spring 2021, they won the Swiss championship for the first time since 1998 after a dominant regular season.

Their competition consisted of KHL-winner Avangard Omsk, Ukrainian champion HC Donbass, Liiga-victor Lukko Rauma, and SHL-champions Växjö Lakers.

Zug's head coach Dan Tangnes was nominated for "Coach of the Year" but didn't win the award. Instead, Sam Hallam of the Växjö Lakers was victorious in this category.

In the category "Young Player of the Year", there was a Swiss candidate as well. Janis Moser, former member of EHC Biel and now in the organization of the Arizona Coyotes, was beaten by fellow defenseman Moritz Seider. The German spent last season with Rögle BK in the SHL and is now suiting up for the Detroit Red Wings.

( 23 October 2021 | esi )