Swiss Ice Hockey Cup

EV Zug beats last year's winner the SC Rapperswil-Jona Lakers with 5-1. It's their first title in a competition since 1998.

EVZ wins the Swiss Ice Hockey Cup trophy

Zug started well into the game, as Lino Martschini already beat Melvin Nyffeler in the 4th minute of play. Zug continued to put pressure on the Lakers. In the 12th minute of play, Dennis Everberg then capitalized on a mistake of Roman Schlagenhauf and scored the second goal of the game. It would get worse for the Lakers, as Dominik Lammer deflected a shot by Pontus Widerström, making it 3-0 for Zug.

The Lakers had their chances in the first ten minutes of the second period, but they did not manage to beat Sandro Aeschlimann, who guarded the net for the Bulls. A power play finally brought the success the Lakers sought: Kevin Clark made it 3-1.

The Lakers kept trying to close the gap to the Bulls also in the third period, but it was not meant to be. Reto Suri finally put an end to the Lakers' hope by scoring another goal in the 56th minute of play. Yannick-Lennart Albrecht's empty-netter (59th minute) did not influence the game anymore.

Last Update: 03 February 2019, 04:33 PM | mso
Something wrong? Then please let us know by sending us an e-mail. Thank you!

What's hot on SHN?


New conditions of entry also impact hockey clubs

03 July 2020 - 7:47

Latest blogs & podcasts


Episode 92: Goldigi Ziite

27 June 2020

© 2013-2020