IIHF World Championship

Because Sven Andrighetto joined the team on Sunday morning, EHC Biel's Damien Riat has to pack his bags and head home.

Damien Riat won't suit up for the Swiss team.
Robert Hradil / RvS.Media

With the arrival of Sven Andrighetto, there is only one spot left on the Swiss roster. As a consequence, EHC Biel's Damien Riat has to head back home, the SIHF announces. It is thus HC Lugano's Alessio Bertaggia who will stay with the team for now.

Bertaggia's fate, however, is closely linked with Nino Niederreiter's fate in the NHL. Bertaggia will probably not be registered until it becomes clear if Niederreiter becomes available. Niederreiter's Carolina Hurricanes are currently down 0-2 in the Eastern Conference Final series against the Boston Bruins.

(SUI) Switzerland's IIHF World Championship roster

Goalies (3): Reto Berra (HC Fribourg-Gottéron), Leonardo Genoni (SC Bern), Robert Mayer (Genève-Servette HC)

Defensemen (8): Raphael Diaz (EV Zug), Michael Fora (HC Ambrì-Piotta), Lukas Frick (Lausanne HC), Joël Genazzi (Lausanne HC), Roman Josi (Nashville Predators, NHL), Romain Loeffel (HC Lugano), Janis Moser (EHC Biel), Yannick Weber (Nashville Predators, NHL)

Forwards (14): Andres Ambühl (HC Davos), Alessio Bertaggia* (HC Lugano), Christoph Bertschy (Lausanne HC), Kevin Fiala (Minnesota Wild, NHL), Gaëtan Haas (SC Bern), Nico Hischier (New Jersey Devils, NHL), Grégory Hofmann (HC Lugano), Philipp Kurashev (Québec Remparts, QMJHL), Lino Martschini (EV Zug), Simon Moser (SC Bern), Vincent Praplan (Springfield Thunderbirds, AHL), Noah Rod (Genève-Servette HC), Tristan Scherwey (SC Bern), Sven Andrighetto* (Colorado Avalanche, NHL)

* = not yet registered

( 13 May 2019 | tme )
Something wrong? Then please let us know by sending us an e-mail. Thank you!

What's hot on SHN?


New conditions of entry also impact hockey clubs

03 July 2020 - 7:47

Latest blogs & podcasts


Episode 92: Goldigi Ziite

27 June 2020

© swisshockeynews.ch 2013-2020