For the first time since swisshockeynews.ch has been conducting its poll a Swiss player has been elected as the MVP of the PostFinance Women's League: Sinja Leemann (ZSC Lions Frauen) secures that title with five votes from the captains and coaches of opposing teams.

Sinja Leemann
Reto Christen / BigHits.ch

Sandra Heim (ZSC Lions Frauen) was named the Best Goaltender of the league by her peers. It was a close race for the title, just as the election for the Best Forward: That title was won by Estelle Duvin (EV Bomo Thun). She is followed by teammate and the Women's League's leading point-getter Maija Otamo as well as ZSC's Sinja Leemann.

As for the Best Defender, ZSC's import player Skylar Fontaine impressed the captains and coaches of the WL teams the most. 16-year-old Alena Lynn Rossel was chosen by her peers for her breakout performance (five votes). She has played in almost all of EV Bomo Thun's games this season and was also part of the U18 national team.

Thomas Zwahlen was named the Best Coach of the Women's League. He led Thun - after two fourth places in the qualification in the past seasons - to second place in the standings, only three points behind the Lions Frauen.

This afternoon, the ZSC Lions Frauen and their MVP Leemann will play their first playoff game against the HC Thurgau Ladies. Thomas Zwahlen will coach his EV Bomo Thun in their game against the Lugano Ladies. SC Langenthal, the Neuchâtel Hockey Academy, and the HC Ambrì-Piotta Girls will play in the ranking round in order to determine who will have to play in the relegation.

( 25 February 2023 | mso )