IIHF Women's World Championship

Daniela Diaz, head coach of the Swiss women's national team, has decided on which players she is going to take to Finland.

Lara Stalder has recovered from injury.

Because many of the established players ended their careers in the national team after the Olympic Games in Pyeongchang last year, the Swiss team is at the start of a transitional phase. Ten players in Daniela Diaz' squad are younger than 20 years old.

"The young players learn quickly and bring a breath of fresh air to the team, while the experienced players provide stability on and off the ice," Diaz says optimistically.

The World Championship will take place in Espoo, Finland, from April 4 to April 14. Switzerland is part of Group A with USA, Canada, Finland and Russia. All the teams from Group A - the stronger group of the two - are automatically qualified for the quarterfinals.

Switzerland's roster for the World Championship in Finland

Goalies (3): Janine Alder (St. Cloud State University, USA), Andrea Brändli (Ohio State University, USA), Saskia Maurer (HC Dragon Thun).

Defense (8): Livia Altmann (Colgate University, USA), Nicole Bullo (HC Ladies Lugano), Lara Christen (SC Langenthal), Sarah Forster (Brynäs IF, SWE), Sinja Leemann (SC Rapperswil-Jona Lakers), Shannon Siegrist (SC Weinfelden Ladies), Nicole Vallario (HC Ladies Lugano), Stefanie Wetli (EHC Winterthur).

Offense (12): Rahel Enzler (SC Reinach), Alina Müller (Northeastern University, USA), Kaleigh Quennec (University of Montreal, CAN), Evelina Raselli (SC Reinach), Lisa Rüedi (GCK/ZSC Lions), Dominique Rüegg (GCK/ZSC Lions), Noemi Ryhner (EV Zug), Jessica Schlegel (GCK/ZSC Lions), Phoebe Staenz (HC Ladies Lugano), Lara Stalder (Linköping HC, SWE), Isabel Waidacher (Djurgardens IF, SWE), Sabrina Zollinger (HV71, SWE).

( 06 March 2019 | tme* )