Swiss League

The two farmteams EVZ Academy and HCB Ticino Rockets are going to be part of the National League B as of next season. The NLB will thus have at least 12 teams and there will be no relegation until the 2018-19 season.


Two applications for the NLB have been approved by the League: On the one hand, EV Zug's application for their farmteam EVZ Academy, on the other HC Biasca's application. The main shareholder of the HCB Ticino Rockets is HC Ambrì-Piotta (51% of all shares). Also HC Lugano, HC Biasca, and the GDT Bellinzona hold shares.

Both organisations have signed a contract with the SIHF that settles the requirements and terms for a participation in the NLB. If these requirements are met by the two teams, they are eligible to play at the NLB level next season.

In addition, the SIHF also announces that no team from the NLB is going to be relegated until the 2018-19 season. The champion of the Regio League, however, can still apply for a promotion to the NLB. (tme)