Spengler Cup

The Russian club is the sixth, and last, team announced to participate in the 94th edition of the tournament.

AK Bars will participate for the first time in the Spengler Cup.
Maurice Parree

In addition to HC Davos, HC Ambrì-Piotta, Team Canada, Sparta Praha, and KooKoo Kouvola, the prestigious tournament will see the participation of one of the most titled teams in the history of the KHL.

AK Bars Kazan won the Gagarin Cup, awarded to the champions of the KHL in 2009, 2010, and in 2018. This year, the team from the Republic of Tatarstan finished the regular season at the top of the standings in the Eastern Conference and was set to face Salavat Yulaev UFA in the playoffs-quarterfinals before the cancellation of the season.

The last winner of the Spengler Cup from Russia was SKA Saint Petersburg back in 2010.

( 19 June 2020 | lle* )
Something wrong? Then please let us know by sending us an e-mail. Thank you!

What's hot on SHN?

Latest blogs & podcasts


Episode 92: Goldigi Ziite

27 June 2020

© swisshockeynews.ch 2013-2020